A Full Slate of Teams at the 2015 Missouri Pork Classic

Columbia, Mo.,—The Missouri Pork Association hosted the 15th annual Missouri Pork Classic on June 30 at Columbia’s L.A. Nickell Golf Course. This year’s tournament was a tremendous success, assembling a total of 36 teams comprised of area producers and industry representatives. Players enjoyed great food and endless fun on the course. Several prizes were awarded during the annual Rib Fest immediately following the tournament, including those listed below.


First, second, and third place were recognized with cash prizes in Flights A and B. Flight A results are as follows: First place went to Greg Reed, Keith Whitney, Rob Rush and Brent Marcks, sponsored by Raymond James, with a score of 50. Second place was awarded to the team of Doug Lunsford, Blake Boxley, Rob Gannan and Matt Moore, sponsored by Murphy-Brown of Missouri, with a score of 52. Third place went to Mark Wolfe, Dave Henderson, Tony Benz and Steve Allison, sponsored by the Missouri State Fair, with a score of 52. These two teams were ranked using a tie-breaker.


Flight B results were as follows: With a score of 63, first place was awarded to the team of Greg Thornton, National Pork Producers Council, along with Jeff Petree, Todd Burgett and Don Burgett of Wiechman Pig Company. Second place in Flight B went to Kelly Coulson, Gabe Reed, Matt Watts and Jonathan Forst, sponsored by Zoetis, with a score of 63. These two teams were ranked using a tie-breaker. In third place was Travis North, Daniel Troesser, Matt Henry and Ken Warren, sponsored by the Maschhoffs, scoring 64.


Additional cash prizes were awarded in various categories, including: Longest Putt—Jeff Sims of Ham Hill Farms; Longest Drive—Josh Pell of Mizzou Sports Properties; and Closest to Hole—Matt Lee of Rabo AgriFinance. Skins winners were teams from Advanced Pork Systems, WB Young Company and Purina.


Special thanks go out to everyone who took part in the 2015 Missouri Pork Classic, and especially to this year’s sponsors for making this event enjoyable for all those involved. The 2015 Missouri Pork Classic sponsors are as follows: Presenting sponsors included National Pork Producers Council, Missouri Soybean Association, AT&T and Grow Missouri. Meal sponsors included Lynch Livestock, Cargill Pork, Brenneman Pork, Inc., Eagle Bank and Trust and the National Pork Board. Beverage sponsors included Fechtel Beverage, Harrison Creek Farm, LLC, Missouri Wines, Public House Brewing Company, and UPI/ Parks, LLC. Margaritaville sponsors included Rabo AgriFinance and Synergy, LLC.


Hole and contest sponsors included ADM, Advanced Pork Systems, AGRIServices of Brunswick, LLC, Brent Hemphill & Associates, Climate Corp., a Division of Monsanto, CFM Insurance, Dairy Farmers of America, Elanco Animal Health, Epperson Farms, FCS Financial, Hebron Hills Inc., Hog Slat, John Brunner, Lathrop & Gage, LLP, MFA Inc., Missouri Cattlemen’s Association, Missouri Corn Growers Association, MO Ag Industries, More than Manure, Mount Zion Homestead Inc., Murphy-Brown of Missouri, LLC, Murphy Family Ventures, Osborn Barr, Pike Feeds, Phibro Animal Health Corporation, Phillips Family Farms, Protect the Harvest, Purina Animal Health, LLC, Raymond James, Rian Livestock Corporation, Wiechman Pig Company, Validus and Victory Enterprises. Other sponsors included the Missouri State Fair, Missouri Dairy Association, Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center, and Tracy Arey Real Estate.


Mark your calendars for the 16th Annual Missouri Pork Golf Classic & Rib Fest on Tuesday, June 28, 2016.


The Missouri Pork Association represents the state’s pork producers in the areas of promotion, research, education and legislation. For more information about this or any other programs of the Missouri Pork Association, go to www.mopork.com, or call the Missouri Pork Association office at (573) 445-8375.


# # #