Great Day for 2017 Missouri Pork Classic

Columbia, Mo.,–The Missouri Pork Association hosted the 17th annual Missouri Pork Classic on June 27, 2017, at Columbia’s L.A. Nickell Golf Course. This year’s tournament was a tremendous success, assembling a total of 36 teams comprised of area producers and industry representatives. Players enjoyed great food and endless fun on the course. Several prizes were awarded during the annual Rib Fest immediately following the tournament, including those listed below.


First, second, and third place teams were recognized with cash prizes in Flights A and B. Flight A results are as follows: First place went to Kerry North, Edna Speaker, Cindy Metts and Connie Welch, sponsored by Mt. Zion Homestead, with a score of 51. Second place was awarded to the team of Casey Wesser, Jeff Brimer, Scott Swain and Dave Smith, sponsored by Missouri Soybean Association, with a score of 52. Third place went to Greg Reed, Rob Rush, Keith Whitney and Brent Marcks, sponsored by Raymond James, with a score of 53.


Flight B results were as follows: With a score of 62, first place was awarded to Jeff Petree, Todd Burgett, Don Burgett and Jamie Pribyl Sponsored by Wiechman Pig Company. Second place in flight B went to Andy Koenigsfeld and Jeremy Haley, Ethan Taylor and Sam Scheulen, sponsored by First State Insurance Agency and FCS Financial, with a score of 62. In third place was Robert Brundidge, Rob Christine, Doug Wirth and Steve Brawner sponsored by Lynch Livestock scoring 62. These three teams were ranked using a tie-breaker.


Additional cash prizes were awarded in various categories, including: Longest Putt – Ralph Lincoln of ADM; Longest Drive – Chris Olson of RABO AgriFinance; and Closest to Hole – Tony Weldon of Huvepharma Incorporated. The skins contest reached an all-time high with cash prizes going out to five different teams.


Special thanks go out to everyone who took part in the 2017 Missouri Pork Classic, and especially to this year’s sponsors for making this event enjoyable for all those involved. Presenting sponsors included AT&T, Missouri Soybean Association and National Pork Producers Council. Meal sponsors include AMEC, Callaway Bank, FCS Financial, Enterprise Bank and Trust, Hog Slat, J.D Howerton and Sons, National Pork Board, Zoetis and Lynch Livestock. Beverage sponsors included Boehringer Ingelheim, MO-AG, Timac Agro, MFA Inc., UPI/Parks, Wiechman Pig, and Fechtel Beverage Service. Margaritaville sponsors included The Maschhoffs, MFA Inc. and RABO AgriFinance.


Hole and contest sponsors included: ADM, Advanced Pork Systems, AGRIServices of Brunswick, LLC, Brent Hemphill & Associates, Carthage Vet, Dairy Farms of America, DNA Genetics, Epperson Farms, FCS Financial, Fisher Hog Farms, JC Mountain Pork, MFA Oil, Missouri Soybean Association, Missouri Corn Growers Association, Mt. Zion Homestead, Murphy Family Ventures, Pradium, NutriQuest, Phillips Family Farms, Pipestone Veterinary Service, Raymond James, Smithfield, Smithfield Hog Production Missouri, Sioux Nation Ag, Synergy, Thorn Creek Insurance Services Inc., Triumph Foods, Pike Feeds, Timac Agro, Win-Win LLC, Missouri Cattlemen’s Association, CFM Insurance, JBS and The Climate Corporation .


Mark your calendars for the 18th annual Missouri Pork Golf Classic & Rib Fest on Tuesday, June 26, 2018.


The Missouri Pork Association represents the state’s pork producers in the areas of promotion, research, education and legislation. For more information on the association or next year’s tournament, visit, or call the Missouri Pork Association office at (573) 445-8375.